My Top 5 Books of 2013 – Book 5

More Books Than Shoes

It was hard to make the decision as to what my final ‘Top 5’ book would be of last year but after some mulling, it had to be this.

You Had Me At Hello by Mhairi McFarlane.

 15733851

Perhaps it was the familiar surroundings of Manchester, which helped me warm to this book. Having resided in the fair city of Manchester for the past 26 years, it certainly helped me get a more vivid imagery of the street names and the bars the characters frequented. But it was more than that.

I’m the first to admit that I’m not a fan of ‘chick lit’ it’s never appealed to me, I usually find it so cheesy that it can be suffocating, and trust me I like me a bit of cheese. But Mhairi seemed to avoid most of the clichés and cheesiness and added something almost cynical to the overall tone…

View original post 239 more words

Leave a Reply

