Summer Reading, Summer Writing, and Old Habits

Keri Cronin

My term as Department Chair came to an end on June 30th and since then I have been knee-deep in writing/research. I didn’t get as much done on the book manuscript as I had hoped while being Chair. (Surprise, surprise!) This was very frustrating, but I have spent too much time feeling awful about how behind I am. Onwards and upwards.

So, now I’m pulling up old files and documents. I have been trying to get my head back in the game, trying to remember what I was thinking when I wrote certain sections (in some cases many months or, gulp, even years ago!). I am forcing myself to go back to an old habit I picked up in grad school, free writing. It works. It always amazes me just how effective this is for writing. The trick is to keep up the habit – right now I am still…

View original post 149 more words

Leave a Reply

