‘Night Train to Lisbon’ by Pascal Mercier review

Foxes In Pink Boxes

ntttl pic

I have been meaning to read Night Train to Lisbon for ages but I never seem to have got around to it. It has been moved between my bookcases at home and university for the past three years and yet has never managed to quite make it onto my bedside table to be read. However, as I no longer have any required reading I decided to finally give it a try.

I won’t lie, the opening of the book both baffled and bored me. I just couldn’t like Mundus, the protagonist and I struggled with Mercier’s writing style. I don’t know whether this was due to the work being in translation (it was originally published as Nachtzug nachLissabon in German) or whether he was purposely trying to be enigmatic and mysterious – if the latter, then Mercier (real name Peter Bieri) was trying too hard! However, I am…

View original post 152 more words

Leave a Reply

