Day Six

Rebecca Hill

There’s nothing like a train journey to start reading a new book. My two finds from the library this week are Stephen Fry’s Liar, which is residing at home whilst I travel to spend the weekend with my chap. Tucked inside my holdall is Marc Fitten’s Elza’s Kitchen

I love that part when you’re standing in the library, glaze flickering over the fiction section and you see a spine that holds your attention for longer than two seconds. You carefully pluck the book from the shelf to stare at the front cover. If the blurb interests me, I dive into the first chapter to see how I respond to the writing style. You can see why beginnings were given so much emphasis during my creative writing classes. I returned several books that had promising blurbs just because I couldn’t agree with the first few lines. The world of…

View original post 73 more words

Leave a Reply

