The delightful Mr Dahl

Happy Things

A couple of weeks ago I shared my favourite quotes by the late Gabriel García Márquez, and I enjoyed it so much I’ve decided to make this a regular feature – at least until I run out of authors, which isn’t likely to happen any time soon.

I’m starting with Roald Dahl, who was my absolute favourite author growing up. In fact, he’s probably one of the reasons I’m such a book lover today. Even though when you stop and think about it, his stories are genuinely disturbing, with characters meeting horrific fates like being eaten by a rhinoceros (James and the Giant Peach), gobbled by giants (The BFG), or turned into a blueberry (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory). It’s a miracle I grew up to be the well-adjusted, sane adult that I am. Ahem. Moving on.

Like the best children’s fiction, Roald Dahl’s books aren’t just for kids…

View original post 447 more words

One thought on “The delightful Mr Dahl

Leave a Reply

